Tips for making videos

Rate this topic

Noel

Some Video Tips

Below are a synopsis of some tips I got years ago from a friend who was a professional camera man. I'm not a professional but I found his advise useful.

• Light the scene properly - avoid back lighting and strong overhead light that casts dark shadows, natural daylight through windows is best combined with indoor lighting that has a horizontal angle component. Set white balance on camera to suit candescent lighting, fluorescent lights, or sunshine if scene lit exclusively from windows on sunny day. Smartphones try and figure this out themselves.
  • Plan scenes - avoid birds eye view of model railway stock, best is side on or slightly elevated view
  • Avoid camera movement - use tripod or hold smartphone against solid object to avoid camera shake, or hold by hand as steady as possible.
  • Generally never zoom or pan a camera - allow the action to move through the scene.
  • If panning rotate camera very slowly and never back and forth
  • On rare occasions when zooming do so very slowly and only once per shot
  • If doing a tracking shot only the slightest horizontal tracking movement is needed to create the effect, avoid 'running' around a layout after a train. Use separate clips edited together.
  • Sound - avoid unwanted background noises (e.g. background talking, barking dog, etc)
  • Videoing moving model railway stock may work better if camera’s image stabilisation is turned off (avoids judder)
  • Take multiple clips and then quilt together as a short movie using one of the many free video editing suites that comes with Windows, Mac or Smartphones.
  • Use gentle transitions between clips (i.e. scene changes). Avoid sharp flick, most video editors even on smart phones allow various fades and scene blends.
  • Be ruthless when editing to cut unnecessary material and avoid repeat shots.
  • Sound - consider editing sound levels of recorded video if too loud